Hello baby!

October 3, 2007

On the 15th of September, I decided that I really was ready to have another baby.  I have a two year old daughter and a one year old son and actually thought I was pregnant in August, but wasn’t.  Upon my sister and brother-in-law’s announcement of their first pregnancy, I told my husband it was time.

The only thing about saying that is that we have never used any form of birth control, so it’s not really up to us.  We were married six months before I was pregnant with my daughter, and my daughter was seven months old when I found out I was pregnant with my son.  When a whole year went by after the birth of my son, I felt a bit surprised.  After all, it had been the longest un-pregnant time since before I was married.  However, God must have heard my heart, because around the twenty-second of September, I started feeling sick about every other day.  By last week (around the twenty-seventh), it became every day.  My sister-in-law got married on the twenty-ninth and I spent the whole weekend fighting the sick feeling in my stomach and telling people that I was 95% sure I was pregnant.  My dad was here visiting and even though I was only two days late, I took a test yesterday morning (the second of October) so I could tell him while he was still here.  The second line was pretty pale pink, but there were definitely two, so I’m definitely pregnant. 

The baby is due on the eigth of June, less than a month after my sister-in-law’s due date.  I’m counting on my kids doing really well playing together and keeping each other entertained after the baby is born – my daughter will be three on the first of June and my son will be twenty-one months.  This is certainly more space than I expected to have between my kids, and it had its perks.  I started losing weight in January and managed to get rid of twenty-five pounds by August, which puts me below what I weighed when I got married three and a half years ago.  I have had very good luck losing my pregnancy weight, but I had put on twenty pounds just after I got married.  I am still about ten pounds over what I should be to be in my ideal weight range, but I feel good and I feel ready to put on another thirty for the sake of a baby.

I’ll try to update weekly…but no promises.  Also, in the next two months, things may not change drastically anyway.  But I’ll do my best.

5 Responses to “Hello baby!”

  1. birthsupport said

    Hi, I just found your blog… gosh I would like to be pregnant again too, but don’t think I’d cope with my two boys (4 and 2) and study so decided to wait a bit. Anyway, I’ll be reading your blog to see how it is with number3 🙂

  2. Idetrorce said

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  3. Mrs.K. said

    I’m not sure what Idetrorce doesn’t agree with. I wasn’t aware that this post had anything to do with my opinion. If you’re checking up on this, let me know what you don’t agree with, Idetrorce – I’m curious. The only thing I said that might make people shake their heads is that we don’t use birth control – but that’s a personal decision, isn’t it??

  4. Tiffany said

    I know you wrote this blog a while ago, but I am going to have so much fun reading it! I just found out that I am pregnant with my third. I have a 2 year old son that will be 3 in Novemeber, and a 17 month old son. I am hoping for a girl this time. I just found out that I am pregnant today after taking 2 home tests. We got pregnant with our first 6 months after we got married too… funny.

  5. Katie said

    Tiffany – your family sounds almost exactly like ours (except the birth order). I’m happy I’ve had my kids in the timing I have, it’s lots of fun. Challenging, but fun. Best wishes with your pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

