Ah, the joy…

March 26, 2008

I promise I haven’t given up…I just had a mostly bad week last week.  I actually felt pretty good the first half of it – made a bunch of food for a potluck on Monday, had my glucose test on Tuesday (not fun, but no big deal) and had a friend over with her baby on Wednesday.  And then Thursday I started feeling sick.  It went on until Saturday, and by then it was really bad.  I had a nasty pain in my stomach for quite a while, so I went into emergency on Saturday.  After blood tests and waiting, waiting, the doctor said that he suspects it’s just the position of the uterus and the baby that are giving me pain.  Hooray.  Just what I wanted to hear.  Not something that can be treated, but instead, something that may last for weeks.  However, by Sunday morning, I was feeling a lot better.  I’m taking maalox (yummy) and I can take gravol or tylenol when I need it for nausea or pain. 

Fortunately, the baby reminded me of its presence repeatedly throughout the three days of being sick.  I was paying close attention to it so that I would know if I needed to go in.  It may have been moving more than normal, and hasn’t slowed down since then.  Heart rate was good on Saturday and I don’t expect that being sick did anything bad in regards to the baby. 

My baking obsession has cooled down a bit, perhaps because of illness, but also because of simple exhaustion.  I really ought to bake bread today, but I really don’t feel like it.  I’ve been thinking about baking cookies to send to work with Mike, too, but again, it just feels like too much work.  I did make jam yesterday, which I’ve been planning for some time but just haven’t gotten around to.  I bought strawberries over a week ago, so it’s a good thing I got to it yesterday.  I only lost one whole strawberry to mold/rot..the rest were perfect. 

I guess even writing isn’t appealing too much to me right now.  I feel like having a nap, but it’s just now ten o’clock in the morning and I’ve barely even had breakfast.  It sure would be nice if I could shake this sleepiness.  I even got to bed early last night (before ten!) and I’m still tired.  Maybe today will have to be a napping day when the kids are down, rather than spending it doing something productive.

For the record, this is my twenty-ninth week.  I think I only missed the twenty-eighth week, but then I’m having trouble keeping track of the date and time lately.

Leave a Reply

