D-Day, so to speak

June 9, 2008

It doesn’t mean anything, it doesn’t mean anything.  A due date is just another day in the lives of most pregnant women.  Only a very small percentage of women deliver on their due dates.  So I’m going to get over it.  Meanwhile, my father-in-law says to hold it in tomorrow because it’s their anniversary.  If I remember right, my aunt actually said she would think it was pretty neat if I had the baby that day (my aunt and uncle share the same anniversary – year and day – with my in-laws).  However, my mother-in-law is quite busy tomorrow, but said that the rest of the week, she can cancel almost everything she has booked if it’s necessary.  She’s going to keep the kids when (if) I go in Tuesday to have my membranes stripped.  I thought it was a good idea just in case something happens really quickly, which I would love.  I’m trying to think positively and assume that it’s going to work and that I’m going to have the baby on Tuesday or Wednesday.  Of course, with my luck, it probably won’t work, but it’s always a good idea to be optimistic.  I think. 

Yesterday was, I hope, the last weekend day I get stuck with the kids most of the day without much help.  We spent the morning running errands and then Mike went to play Axis and Allies at his parents.  It’s a very long game, so I was home from just before one until five without Mike.  Fortunately, the kids slept for almost three hours and I had a nap as well, and then we drove over to have supper with the family.  I expected a nice relaxing evening, but then everyone wanted to play tennis, so we ended up at the courts being bombarded by mosquitos while the kids played in puddles and soaked themselves.  Because we drove separately and Mike’s friend needed a ride home, I made it home first and immediately put the kids in the bath.  The night wasn’t so bad in the end and we did get to bed early, but I was wiped out at the end of the day.  I felt like falling asleep in church this morning and of course had to tell a dozen different people that today was my due date and yes, I’m still pregnant and yes, I’m tired and of course, I want to have the baby soon.  A nice long nap this afternoon (for the whole family) was needed and enjoyed. 

Tonight when the kids are in bed, Mike and I are going to sit down and watch a movie and hope that the kids don’t decide to get up and bother us (well, Jenny, anyway).  We haven’t seen any new movies in a few weeks, and I’m looking forward to putting my feet up and turning my mind off (more or less) for a few hours.

Until the baby is born, I’m going to try to write as much as I can, seeing that this is technically a “pregnancy” journal, and therefore will end when I’m not pregnant anymore.  I’ll go back to my messy housewife blog, but I can’t promise any regular frequency since I will have a new baby.  I’ve actually been trying to decide what to do with this blog, since I titled it “baby number three” and can’t exactly change that.  I should have thought ahead, but there’s not much I can do about that now. 

Once again, I do really seriously hope that this is my last pregnant entry, but you just never know.

Leave a Reply

