Short and sweet

June 10, 2008

Well, it might be.  I’m not making any promises either way.  Today I am two days late and having my membranes stripped.  I’m not looking forward to this procedure, but I am seriously hoping that it works to get my labour started.  There are lots of different ways to look at it, and it’s not my ideal start to labour, but if it works and helps me to avoid being induced when I’m ten or twelve days late, I’ll be happy.  If it doesn’t work today, we’ll try again in a week.  My hope is that if it doesn’t work, I’ll have the baby before we have to try it again. 

The best way to describe it, making conclusions from what I’ve read, is that it feels like a very very thorough cervical exam.  For those of you who have been nine months pregnant and had a cervical exam (during labour or not), it’s not very comfortable anyway.  Rather than just reaching in there to see if you’re dilated, though, the doctor reaches in there and spends a few minutes pushing things around.  Ouch.  I’m thinking of taking some tylenol pre-appointment, although I’m not sure if it would do any good.  I actually have this hope that my labour will start before my appointment and that when she goes to do it, she’ll find that I’m four centimetres dilated or something.  I’m pretty certain that this isn’t going to happen, but a girl can hope.

The other thing I wanted to share is a picture.  I recently put up pictures of myself on Facebook and MySpace that made me look gigantic.  My sister-in-law said that they weren’t very true to life, but exaggerated by the shirt I was wearing.  So I had Mike take more last night, hopefully for the last time in this pregnancy.  There’s one I’m particularly proud of that I took of just my belly.  You can actually see the curve of my back and the wall behind me, so I don’t actually look so huge for once.  Anyway, I think that’s what I’ll end on.  Hopefully my next entry will include a picture of a baby outside of the womb.

You see, I\'m not really that gigantic.

Update, post doctor’s appointment:

My cervix is not ripe.  This basically means that my membranes could not be stripped, because my doctor couldn’t get a finger into my cervix (I know, descriptive, but I happen to know that the majority of my readers are women who have had children, so I don’t care).  She’ll try again next week, on Monday afternoon, and if that doesn’t work, my induction is scheduled for Friday, June 20th at 8:00 in the morning.  Woohoo.  I desperately hope that I have this kid before I have to be induced.  Meanwhile, when I dropped the kids off to my mother-in-law, she said I could just leave them there and she’d bring them home around four.  So they’re having lunch and napping over at her house which leaves me the rest of the day to do whatever.  I’m thinking I’ll go nuts on the nesting (is it nesting if you know you’re doing it and would rather be taking a nap?) in the hopes that I’ll make myself go into labour.  At this point, I think I’d do almost anything.

2 Responses to “Short and sweet”

  1. Sarah Lee said

    Hi there Katie!
    I’m desperately trying to do everything to make this little sausage come along, and indeed I tried the whole pineapple thing – I don’t think I could ever eat pineapple or even look at it again!!
    Trampolining on our new bed doesn’t seem to work, nor does driving over speed bumps at a great rate of notts! Sex, equally as useless; just knackers me out. Going for a stupidly long walk tomorrow, membrane sweep due Weds – I just hope with all the spicy foods, sex, walking and membrane sweep I can help in some way to bring this bugger out!! – My 1st (this is my 2nd) none of the above worked, but the membrane sweep did – I was booked in to be induced later the day I started in labour… I can only hope this one comes before that day is anywhere near… I’m going mad. Katie is just 11months old and I struggle on a daily basis to keep up with her, but now she gets very aggetated because Mummy can’t quite seem to drag her arse out of the chair to run around like an idiot with her EVERY TWO MINUTES!! I need to give birth so I can run around like an idiot and have a nice, proper snuggle with her, without the huge basketball I seem to have swallowed hindering the ability to be close enough!! Also it would be nice to have my breasts, their ducts and the milk that’s about to burst out, finally settle down and not be so painful, as I hit the roof every time they’re brushed past or touched! Washing them has become almost unbearable!
    I do wonder why I decided to have another… Then I begin to think why do I want to go through this another 4 times?! Although I shall be having more than 6weeks break from being pregnant next time – Yes, I fell pregnant with Elizabeth just over 6weeks after I had given birth to Katie. I need some much-needed recovery time, and it would be nice to spend some quality time with my girls, without being hindered by midwife visits, my head stuck down the toilet and the horrible, excessive tiredness the last few weeks of pregnancy brings!!
    Sorry to ramble lol … Take care.
    Sarah x

  2. Katie said

    Sarah – I don’t mind the rambling – I totally understand. I’ve been there three times now and I, too, want to do it another three times for a grand total of six children. But it’s so hard to be in the moments of waiting before birth, while the time after giving birth flies by too quickly. Baby number three is six months old already which is so hard to believe..hang in there, your little one will grow up all too fast and the next thing you know, you’ll be looking forward to baby number three for yourself. I can relate, though, to wanting a bit more space. I’m so glad my boys are twenty-one months apart rather than only fifteen, and that so far, I’m not pregnant again. I’m really enjoying my kids – having fun with Erik who is a dream baby, starting to do a bit more teaching with Jenny as she is ready to learn and always asking questions and finally buckling down to potty training Elias. That’s probably the hardest thing – potty training when you also have a baby, but I am really not into the whole three year split between kids thing – I couldn’t bear to wait that long for another baby! Anyway, I hope you’re making progress and that it doesn’t go as far as induction for you! Have fun! 😉

Leave a Reply

